Remember when you wanted what you currently have? – My Journey.

You know, life has a funny way of making someone feel behind. Maybe it’s being in a highly demanding field but the truth is that time will always move whether you are keeping up or not. There’s a saying that “comparison is the thief of joy”. Imagine if you constantly compared yourself to others; you would never truly acknowledge your accomplishments because it would never be enough. The day I realized that my journey in medicine is MY journey was the day I really allowed myself to be free of those thoughts of feeling behind.

Fast forward to many years later.

When I first started my medical journey in 2021 there was an astounding feeling of uncertainty and fear of what I was about to indulge myself into for the next coming years. There were times when everything seemed impossible and internal battles full of doubtful noises was so hard to silent. I often looked for inspiration in the lives of other people I followed on social media, wondering if they can do it then why can’t I? One thing I was certain about was that it is my God given passion and purpose to be a physician and this was something I knew before I could even understand that revelation.

STEP prep was a different ball game. Being back home was great, celebrating the holidays with friends and family and feeling a sense of relaxation after being away on the grind for so long. It wasn’t long before I realized it was time to lock in for my dedicated study period. At this point, the only bestie I knew was my new 2023 USMLE first aid book(curtesy of Phide). I prepared for STEP using Uworld, Pathoma, ANKI and boot camp videos. In early January 2024, I took my STEP 1 exam and a few weeks after that I was notified that I had passed; an unexplainable feeling. Sometimes I can be hard on myself and maybe you’ve notice that about yourself too but I’m here to tell you that it is so important to recognize your wins and celebrate them. Throughout this journey there will always be a next step but get used to appreciating where you are at the moment.

Until next time!

Leave a comment

I’m Praise

Welcome! If you’re looking to follow my journey, get some advice and be encouraged, then you’re in the right place. Buckle up!

Let’s connect

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started